Back to all posts
Posted on

Seven Sacred Teachings - Virtue Awards: Love

Once again this year our students are learning about The Seven Sacred Teachings. The Seven Sacred Teachings are values based in First Nations cultural tradition that reinforce the teachings of our Catholic faith. Each teaching honours one of the basic virtues to help us to live a full and healthy life: Love, Respect, Courage, Honesty, Wisdom, Humility, and Truth. Each of these Sacred Teachings is represented by a different animal, and provides practical and positive traits for use in our everyday lives.

Every child in our school will be celebrated for demonstrating one or more of these teachings during the school year.  This will happen during our monthly Awards Celebrations. 

Mrs Gates' grade 1 class led the celebration today by reminding our students about what they have learned about Love. According to, to feel true love is to know the Creator.  Therefore, it is expected that one's first love is the Creator. Love given to the Creator is expressed through love for oneself, and it is understood that if one cannot love oneself, it is impossible to love anyone else.  

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the Love award!

Prev Post Next Post